Tuesday, April 26, 2016

Book Round-Up: World Record Edition part 2

Teddy Mars (series)
By Molly B Burnham

Book 1: Almost a World Record Breaker
received for review (though truth be told, we already had it checked out from the library when it came in the mail, lol)

I give this one 4 stars, Mister gave it more.  It is admittedly hilarious (the first couple of pages had me laughing aloud) but the parents (or more accurately their parenting style) made me bonkers.  It's not cute when a kid destroys someone else's stuff.  Just no.  (If the little brother had been 2 and not turning 5 that might have been one thing, but no.)

Ultimately I liked where it went and it was fun.  Mister loved it.  Boo enjoyed it too.  Good bet for the elementary school crowd.

Book 2: Almost a Winner
received for review

Again, Mister loved it, though he didn't think the description was very accurate and that annoyed him.  Again he said it was very funny.

He is now anxiously awaiting.....

Book 3: Almost an Outlaw

which isn't even in GoodReads yet.... so I'm thinking he'll be waiting a while.

Monday, April 25, 2016

Book Round-Up: World Record Edition

(All received for review)

Guinness World Records Daring Dogs and Big Wheels
(I Can Read! Level 2)

Great illustrations and fun details.  Big hit in my house.

Guinness World Records Biggest and Smallest, Super Humans, and Wacky and Wild

These three are middle grade books packed with fun facts.  Huge huge hit.  Mister especially loves them.

Guinness World Records Incredible Animals and Amazing Body Records

These two are considered chapter books, though I'm not entirely sure how different they are from the middle grade ones.  More text maybe?  Prose as opposed to a list of facts.  Something.

Anyway, again a huge hit, especially with Mister.

All of these titles are likely good bets for more reluctant readers, especially boys.

Saturday, April 23, 2016

Picture Book Round-Up: Number 387

Approximately.

Okay, not really... but I've done a lot of these, lol.

(All of these titles were received from Harper Collins for review)

Punk Skunks by Trisha Speed Shaskan
illustrated by Stephen Shaskan

SUCH a cute cover and a good message.  Ultimately, though, this picture book just wasn't as cute as I wanted it to be.

How to put your Parents to Bed by Mylisa Larsen
illustrated by Babette Cole

Cute enough premise, and pretty fun.  Didn't love it, but it is funny.

There's a Giraffe in my Soup
written and illustrated by Ross Burach

Oh my gosh, I LOVE THIS ONE.  The text is fun and witty and the illustrations are great.  Hilarious overall.  CHECK THIS ONE OUT.

Paddington at the Circus by Michael Bond
illustrated by R W Alley

We love Paddington in this house.  This picture book version of his trip to the circus is another great one.

Go To Sleep, Monster!
written and illustrated by Kevin Cornell

This one cracks me up!  And the little girls love it too.  Fun simple text and really cute pictures.  Absurd? Yes, but funny.

Thursday, April 21, 2016

Shakespeare Week!!

I'm really late in the game on this one, but it's Shakespeare Week over on GoodReads.

Go read the Shakespeare Week Blog Post and check out the awesome "deleted scenes" from various plays.  :)

Seriously, go.  Jasper Fforde wrote a deleted scene for Hamlet, for crying out loud.


Book Round-Up: What Boo's Reading

Grayling's Song by Karen Cushman
received for review

I haven't gotten to read this yet, because hey, Boo stole it.  But she really liked it.  And it's Karen Cushman.  So it seems like a good bet to me. :)

The Keepers (series)
Book 1: The Box and the Dragonfly
Book 2: The Harp and the Ravenvine
by Ted Sanders
received for review

Oh the trauma (and drama) of finding a series so new you'll have to WAIT for however long for the next book.  It's very sad.  Boo really enjoyed these (fairly thick) fantasy novels.

Red Butterfly by A L Sonnichsen

A novel in verse about adoption, love, being different, and other deep emotional kinds of things. ;)
Boo liked it, partly purely because it was in verse, though she did say it was sad.

Here, There Be Dragons by James A Owen

Dragons.  Enough said, lol.  Boo is obsessed with dragons, so this series was a no-brainer.


Friday, March 4, 2016

Middle Grade Spotlights

(Books received for review)

Okay, so these are ones I haven't read.  Because sometimes what shows up on my doorstep is just not my style.  And that's okay, because everyone likes different things.

Since these weren't Boo's cup of tea either, they went to the school so that someone who would love them could find them. :)

Confidentially Yours (series)
Book 1: Brooke's Not-So-Perfect Plan
Book 2: Vanessa's Fashion Face-Off
by Jo Whittemore

This series is about four friends writing an advice column for their middle school newspaper.  It's described as "perfect for fans of The Baby-Sitters Club".  While the premise is amusing, I wasn't into Baby-Sitters Club even when I was the right age for it, so probably not for me.

But since we're celebrating the idea of Reading Across America this week, I wanted to highlight them for those with girls that would be interested. 

The Magnificent Mya Tibbs: Spirit Week Showdown
by Crystal Allen

This is apparently another series, and I THINK it's the first book, but I'm not sure.

A story about friendship, school, things going wrong, and dealing with bullies, I'm sure there are many elementary-aged girls who would be interested in this one.  Mya is 9, so I'm guessing 3/4 grade ish for the ideal audience.

Thursday, March 3, 2016

Picture Book Round-Up

(All received for review)

Bear and Duck by Katy Hudson

Bear is tired of being a bear, so he decides to become a duck.  Cute enough but didn't strike me as amazing.  Bear learning to fly will definitely get giggles from the preschool crowd. :)

I'm Cool by Kate McMullan

It's the zamboni cleaning the ice during the hockey game!  This one is in the same series as I Stink! and I'm Dirty!, both of which have always been favorites around here.  This entry is quite cute, but didn't make quite as big of an impression.  Actually, LuLu kept thinking the zamboni was actually Mater (from Cars) which led to much confusion.  We ended up passing it along to a vehicle-obsessed little friend!

Dill & Bizzy: An Odd Duck and a Strange Bird by Nora Ericson

A goofy story about friendship and being yourself.  Definitely will get the preschool/early elementary crowd giggling.  At the end of the day, though, I didn't feel like it was quite as cute as I wanted it to be.

Girl & Gorilla: Out and About by Rick Walton

Another friendship story, Girl and Gorilla have some problem-solving to do as they figure out how to get to the park.  Cute-- the repeated efforts of Gorilla to use his tail, followed by the girl reminding him he doesn't have one, made me laugh.

Goose Goes to the Zoo by Laura Wall

Sophie is worried about Goose being lonely, so they go to the zoo to find Goose some friends.  I liked this better than Goose Goes to School.

Duck, Duck, Dinosaur by Kallie George

Ultimately, this picture book has a great message about family and sibling rivalry, but it just wasn't nearly as cute as I wanted it to be.